My Life in Music: Skillet, Suspended in You (Ricky Bobby and Jesus)

 


Listen to Skillet – “Suspended in You”

Buy

“…Now you pull me apart, I’m suspended in you. Stretch me bigger, reveal yourself to be the frame that holds me tightly in center. Pulled into suspension, in the middle of you…”

Colossians 1:17 tells us that “…all things that were created, both in the Heavens and on the Earth; visible and invisible were created by Him [Jesus] and for Him…and in Him all things hold together.” How mind-blowing is that? I mean seriously,chew on that for a while. Sit still, and let that thought wash over you. Not only were all things created by Jesus, but they are also HELD TOGETHER in Him.

To often I have failed to recognize how incredibly cohesive and connected the Bible is. In my mind I have considered the Old Testament as being about God the Father, and all the stuff the Israelites did to tick Him off. I relegate Jesus to the New Testament, and don’t really think of Him much until He pops on the scene as the cute little baby “…wrapped in swaddling clothes and laying in manger…” It’s easier to think of Him that way, sort of safe and non threatening. Kind of like Will Farrell as Ricky Bobby in the movie Talladega Nights, “…Dear tiny Jesus, with your golden fleece diapers, and your little fat balled up hands…Look, I like the baby Jesus the best, do ya hear me? I win the races, and I get the money..!!”

But in truth, Jesus is fearsome and majestic, and he is definatley not “safe”. He has been part of the complete picture from the beginning of time, and He is the one who is actually responsible not only for the act of creation, but for sustaining creation as well! All things are held together in Jesus, all that has been, is, and will be, is suspended and sustained in Him. He is infinite in power and glory. All things have purpose, movement and being in Jesus Christ!

So then what does that mean for our lives? What personal, family, and work struggles can be put into perspective, or even ended, when we grasp just a tiny bit of understanding of how infinitely “in-control of it all” Jesus is!

Nothing happens without his consent. Nothing escapes being subject to his rule. No government, or politician, and no physical, or spiritual reality can exist without it being subjected to the power and authority of Jesus. The very fact that I woke up this morning and was able to take a breath, was because Jesus allowed and enable it to happen! All of life is Suspended in Him. In response how can we not be driven to our knees in awe inspired worship?

The Word: ” He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. For by Him all things were created: Things in Heaven and on earth, visible and invisible. Weather thrones or powers, or rulers or authorities; all things were created by Him and for him. He is before all things and in Him all things hold together” (Colossians 1:15-17)

Prayer: Jesus, I can’t even begin to understand just how wide, and how deep, and how unending you are. You are the source of all things and you hold the world together. Nothing surprises you and nothing is out of your control. I thank you for the gift of life and for the very air that I breathe. Enable me to surrender those things that are out of my control, trusting that you will work them all out according to your plan.

Leave a Reply

