Guest Post by Pastor Bill Walden: Undercover, Fourth Watch


 (Fourth Watch: Bill Walden featured in center)

John 21:19-22   19This He spoke, signifying by what death he would glorify God. And when He had spoken this, He said to him, “Follow Me.”  20Then Peter, turning around, saw the disciple whom Jesus loved following, who also had leaned on His breast at the supper, and said, “Lord, who is the one who betrays You?” 21Peter, seeing him, said to Jesus, “But Lord, what about this man?”  22Jesus said to him, “If I will that he remain till I come, what is that to you? You follow Me.”  

The year was 1984.  I had just quit the band Undercover, which at the time, was hugely popular and used by God.  I was walking through Knott’s Berry Farm on one of the Christian Music Nights they had once a year.  This year, I was not on stage, as I had been previously.  I was just a guy in the crowd, wandering around from stage to stage, watching the bands, getting recognized a bit, but feeling quite alone and confused.

I was wondering about what my immediate future held.  I was feeling drawn to the pastoral ministry, but still feeling like I had some music left in me: songs to write, concerts to perform etc.  I was walking through Knott’s hoping for and looking for some direction.

God spoke clearly to me that night.  He didn’t speak to me about the particular direction of what I was supposed to do, but of how I was supposed to live.  The reminder that I received was that I needed to not worry about what other people were doing and saying, or what God was doing in and through other people.  My responsibility was and still is, to follow Jesus.

Fast forward 27 years.  My need to follow Jesus hasn’t changed.  The voices of the experts have changed a bit.  I am offered much advice from pewsitters and church growth experts about how to serve Jesus.  I don’t discount that some of that advice is good, but it never has and never will be better advice than what I receive from Jesus.

I still don’t need to worry about what others are doing and saying.  Yes, there are some good thoughts I can learn from.  There are examples of outstanding works being done that I can gather from, but the greatest advice and direction I can get needs to come to me from Jesus.  He speaks through His Word, and He speaks by His spirit through impressions, thoughts, leanings, and holy hunches.

My life is unique, as is yours.  No one knows what you need more than God.  Listen for His voice first and foremost.  Don’t just agree with me, but do it.  Learn the art of quite reflection, prayer, and Bible reading. Until that is done, restrain yourself from other voices.

“You follow Me” is advice I still need to follow.

BackSpin thanks pastor Bill for allowing us to post this. 
Just a reminder, the debut BSR show will air Sunday the 18th on WHRZ the Z and we will post it on the blog Monday the 19th. It features Kevin Smith of Disicple and Marc Byrd of Commen Children!
Leave a Reply

