TobyMac: Christmas in Diverse City

Christmas In Diverse City

I love this time of year, but it’s not that warm cider, or apple picking that I hold dear, no for me it’s all about new Christmas Albums!! Since I will most likley never get that Petra X-mas album I’ve been longing for I’m still holding out hope for a Newsboys Christmas, or now I guess a Peter Furler Christmas. no offense to Mike Tait.

While I pine for my soundtrack of Christmas future I will tell you my thoughts on a release for Christmas present. TobyMac: Christmas in Diverse City.

Featuring a litany of guest artists, CDC boasts 13 tracks packed full of Holiday Cheer.
This stuff would be a great soundtrack to have in the background as you snuggle on a couch with a loved one, sipping hot coco and basking in the glow of 100,000 twinkling Christmas lights.

The overall vibe is very mellow and smooth yet it has enough funk and groove to keep your toes tapping. A few stand outs would include “The First Noel” featuring Owl City, “Carol of the Kings” feat. DJ Maj, Liquid and Gabe Real, and a very dirty, crunchy, retro-rock tune by Tim Rosenau called “It Snowed”.

All and all it’s what you would exect from Toby and the DC crew so if you dig that funk you’ll love this!

What is the worst Christmas album you ever owned or heard?

2 thoughts on “TobyMac: Christmas in Diverse City

  1. Pingback: BackSpinRadio Christmas Music Reviews | BackSpinRadio

  2. Pingback: Kutless: This Is Christmas EP | BackSpinRadio

Leave a Reply

