My Life in Music: Steven Curtis Chapman, “Lord of the Dance”

Currently I am reading Tim Keller’s The King’s Cross: The Story of the World in the Life of Jesus.” It didn’t take long for Keller to blow my mind when early into chapter one he writes the following:

“In the words of my favorite author, C.S. Lewis, “In Christianity God is not a static thing…but a dynamic, pulsating activity, a life, almost a kind of drama. Almost if you will not think me irreverent, A KIND OF DANCE.” Theologian Cornelious Plantinga develops this further, noting that the Bible says the Father, the Son and the Spirit glorify one another: “The persons within God exalt each other, commune with each other, and defer to one another…Each divine person harbors the others at the center of His being, In constant movement of overture and acceptance, each person envelopes and encircles the others…God’s interior life [therefore] overflows with regard for others”

I’m not really sure why this passage strikes me so, it could be because I instantly heard SCC “Lord of the Dance” playing in my head, or maybe it was that I take pleasure knowing that God, Jesus and the Spirit enjoy each other so much. The perfect love, Joy and admiration that the Triune has for each other spills over on to me. I feel it warmly spreading to the core of my being and it makes me happy, it brings me Joy.

The fact that this affects me the way it does should not be surprising, as I see the same kind of joy in my children’s eyes and on their faces, when my wife and I embrace, and kiss one another in front of them. They can’t help it, they’re drawn to it, and soon they are intertwined in our legs letting the love that my spouse and I are sharing wash over them as well. This marital “dance” is yet another reflection of God’s character in humanity, and while the overflow of spousal love brings joy and comfort to our earthly children, how much more pleasure can the children of God enjoy while basking in the Glory, clinging to the legs of our triune Lord of the Dance!

click icon to play songaudio

On the bank of a Tennessee River
In a small Kentucky town
I drew my first breath one cold November morning
And before my feet even touched the ground
With the doctors and the nurses gathered ’round
I started to dance
I started to dance A little boy full of wide-eyed wonder
Footloose and fancy free
But it would happen, as it does for every dancer
That I’d stumble on a truth I couldn’t see
And find a longing deep inside of me, it said I am the heart, I need the heartbeat
I am the eyes, I need the sight
I realize that I am just a body
I need the life
I move my feet, I go through the motions
But who’ll give purpose to chance
I am the dancer
I need the Lord of the dance The world beneath us spins in circles
And this life makes us twist and turn and sway
But we were made for more than rhythm with no reason
By the one who moves with passion and with grace
As He dances over all that He has made I am the heart, He is the heartbeat
I am the eyes, He is the sight
And I see clearly, I am just a body
He is the life
I move my feet, I go through the motions
But He gives purpose to chance
I am the dancer
He is the Lord of the dance

Lord of the dance
Lord of the dance

And while the music of his love and mercy plays
I will fall down on my knees and I will pray

I am the heart, You are the heartbeat
I am the eyes, You are the sight
And I see clearly, I am just a body
You are the life
I move my feet, I go through the motions
But You give purpose to chance
I am the dancer
You are the Lord of the dance

I am the heart, You are the heartbeat
I am the eyes, You are the sight
And I see clearly, I am just a body
You are the life
I move my feet, I go through the motions
But You give purpose to chance
I am the dancer
You are the Lord of the dance

I am the dancer
You are the Lord of the dance

Lyrics powered by LyricFind
written by CLARK, CHRIS
Lyrics © EMI Music Publishing
Read more at http://www.lyrics.com/lord-of-the-dance-lyrics-steven-curtis-chapman.html#DJQWIDsFD3AQwLte.99

 

One thought on “My Life in Music: Steven Curtis Chapman, “Lord of the Dance”

  1. Pingback: The Peyton Manning Bible Study Method (Margret Becker, Deep Calling Deep) | BackSpinRadio

Leave a Reply

