My Life, In Music: Between Thieves, The Spring (Virgin Water Obsession)

I have a confession to make. I love Fiji bottled water. Not only am I drawn to the tropical Fiji water bottlenature of its packaging, but I am intrigued with the companies claim that each bottle of pure, sparkling Fiji water is tapped directly at its volcanic source, and is never touched by human hands until its’ cool, refreshing, deliciousness touches my lips. I call it virgin water, and each time I buy a bottle I make a big deal to my wife and kids about how I will be the first human to take a drink from this amazing H20.

At first they made fun of me, with the rolling of eyes and clucking of tongue, but as I continued to preach its wonders, making a production of each bottle of “virgin water” I drank, they have now begun to fight over who gets the ceremonial, and coveted, first sip.

All kidding aside, I really, really like Fiji water. I CRAVE, Fiji water. And in spite of all the skepticism that comes my way in regards to my Fiji obsession, I find it to be pure liquid joy. However, and you may know where I am going with this, as refreshing and satisfying as I find my virgin water to be, it’s thirst quenching power is fleeting.

There is only one kind water that is truly thirst quenching and it is mentioned by Jesus when speaking to the Samaritan woman at the well.

13Jesus replied, “Anyone who drinks this water will soon become thirsty again. 14But those who drink the water I give will never be thirsty again. It becomes a fresh, bubbling spring within them, giving them eternal life.”

So what is this living water that Jesus is referring to? Although many people say that Jesus is the living water, Jesus Himself intended the phrase to mean the Holy Spirit who dwells in believers and seals them for salvation (Ephesians 1:13–14). It is the ministry of the Spirit, flowing out of a heart redeemed by God, that blesses believers and, through them, brings life and light to the world.

Drink deep my friends!

Water

click cd cover

 

Leave a Reply

