Take Off Your Pants and “Christian” Jacket? Chris Taylor, Formerly of Love Coma Speaks Out

90’s Christian “alternative” band, Love Coma, featuring Chris Taylor on lead vox , remains one of the most under-rated bands coming out of that era.
The Mike Roe, (77’s, Language of FoolsLost Dogs) produced album, Language of Fools was a fantastic record. The songs “Tomorrow Takes to Long” and “Walk in the Rain” are still two of my all time favorites, and I can’t recall a time when I did not spin at least one of those epic jams on my show.

In addition, a concert memory best is the time I was able to see Love Coma at legendary concert venue, the Power House Room in Greenville, SC. As soon as the band started playing, I realized that Matt Slocum (Sixpence None the Richer) was playing guitar. Just to make sure, I shouted, “Matt Slocum!!” My suspicion was confirmed as he quickly looked up and grinned. I felt pretty good about that, because it appeared no one else in the room had realized who he was, and few, if any, knew that he had previously been in Love Coma, before launching Sixpence None The Richer with Leigh Bingham (Nash). I have always thought that was a pretty classy move on his part, considering Sixpence was on the rise and they had just won the “Alternative/Modern Rock Album of the Year” Dove award for their record This Beautiful Mess, (their best project IMHO).

That said, I thought I would share a very honest and thought provoking post that Chris recently added to a Facebook thread found on the 90’s Christian Music Recovery Group. I’d love some feedback on this, please read and sound off. Thanks – Bill

“If a bunch of Christians got together and made jean jackets, would we call them “Christian Jean Jackets”? Even if there was no writing or symbolism on the jacket in any way… They were just made by Christians… Looks like any other jean jacket… maybe they even took the time to create some cool stitching patterns or have a darker wash than the typical jean jacket…

I think what ruined Christian music was, in the beginning… someone put that label on it and we’ve been using it ever since. We writers and singers and musicians who were and are part of a church have always been told Why, How and Where to use and play our music. We are always told by pastoral types and other religious types what we should and shouldn’t be writing about. It’s always been an uncomfortable fit for me, personally. Even leading worship in different churches over 15 years… It’s never felt right. I always felt like I had to re-invent the wheel every week. I always felt like I had to be doing what someone else’s idea of worship music was all about… and fair enough to them… it was their church… they started it and I came along later in the mix.

Even beyond church… I had this inner, nagging feeling of what and how I should be doing/using my gift… but I didn’t have the strength or bravery to do it without the shadow of other people’s opinions to hinder me. It’s taken a lifetime to shake that stuff off and write what I have to write, sing and perform the way I have to and paint what, and how, I have to paint.

Although this may sound like a wicked contradiction – My music may be deeply fused with God and the things of a spiritual nature, among many other things… It’s NOT Contemporary Christian Music made for marketing and industry purposes. I want nothing to do with that. I want nothing to do with modern worship music – not that it’s a bad thing… but people see how popular it is and just copy and paste the style… again… not a bad thing… I’m just more interested in digging within myself and seeing what I have to offer this world.

Each musician, songwriter and artist has to find their own path… I can’t knock what someone else is doing if it’s a genuine step of creativity and spiritual growth for them… The scriptures say “Be transformed by the renewing of your mind…” and maybe we should apply that process to why we even let someone’s idea of a marketing term “Christian Music” get in the way of what God is doing through music and art outside that label. ~ Peace to you all.”

Leave a Reply

